Day One blogging…week 3 gardening

So…today begins my first day of blogging about this, what some would call, crazy venture into the world of organic gardening.  I have planted a home garden, along with my mother-in-law, of organic vegetables in her backyard.  Our move to Alabama has left us with a less than desirable yard, at least for gardening…or anything for that matter.  So for the time being, I must learn to share my gardening space.  I hope this blog becomes an outlet for all things good for you.  Along with organic gardening, my family has been trying raw milk and LOVE it and learning more about soy-free products, such as eggs.  So if I venture off of gardening sometimes, don’t be surprised!

I began planting about 3 weeks ago.  I started simply with one organic Cherokee Purple heirloom tomato plant that I bought at a farmers’ market.  I transplanted it into my mother-in-law’s garden, which I am sharing with her.  Now, I should say that I am in the process of making an organic convert out of my mother-in law.  She and her parents have gardened for years and have ALWAYS used fertilizer.  So, I am working with land that, up until this year, has had fertilizer applied to it yearly for at least the last 3 years.  However, I can’t help what’s been done in the past…only work with what I have now and try to improve the soil quality from here on  out.  So far, I have planted each transplant using worm castings (aka worm poop) and the soil that’s there.  Nothing else has been applied.  I am deep into learning about companion planting, so that has helped me with pest control without using a pesticide.  I am very interested in learning more about companion planting!  I have also started composting at home using a compost tumbler.  It’s not ready to apply to the garden yet, but when it is, that will be an additional layer of good stuff for my plants.

So, I told you what I started with, but now I have since added at least 15 other transplants that I bought from Tune Farm in Falkville, AL and started some other plants by seed in the garden.  I have SEVERAL different varieties of tomatoes now, bell peppers, basil, etc.  I started squash, watermelon, zucchini, cucumbers and corn by seed.  They have all sprouted and are doing well.  You can look at pictures to see what things look like at this stage.  Along with blogging, I want to share with you visuals of successes and failures as I go along, and also track the growth of things I planted.  So far, so good though.  I was able to pick some of my basil yesterday and made a yummy pesto tonight with dinner using it.

Tune Farm…what a wonderful place!  I visited there last week and was amazed at what they are doing there!  They have got this stuff down to a science.  I imagine I will be using them as a resource for my own garden as I go along.  I learned so much the day I was there.  One tidbit – they cover their garden plots completely with hay and then, by hand, make rows for planting seeds.  The hay prevents weeds from growing up around the plants.  They do most everything by hand, which reminds me that gardening is not supposed to be this “easy” thing, as most people have turned it into.  This whole idea of mass production using chemical fertilizers and pesticides, using machines to pick everything and process it…hands rarely touch the produce where mass production is involved.  That’s what most of us eat.  Home gardeners are just as bad, taking the easy route and sprinkling some fertilizer or spraying some pesticide when there’s a problem instead of learning about organic methods of companion planting and creating healthy soil.  Healthy soil equals healthy food.  People often forget that what you put in the ground goes into your food, which goes into your body.  No wonder people are so sick!  I’ve been naive for too long and am ready to take my own family’s health into my own hands and become more self-sufficient as well.  Hopefully this garden will be a success, but if not, I hope to have fun learning along the way and try again next year.

2 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by jonica on May 13, 2011 at 3:49 pm

    I am excited about your blog……..What is Tune Farm?

    Reply

    • Tune Farm is an organic farm in Falkville. The owner’s last name is Tune, so that’s where that comes from. They have sustainable methods for growing, but aren’t considered “organic” by gov’t standards because it’s so expensive to go through that process. A friend of mine worked there for 3 months last year and brought my attention to it. I visited last week and was amazed at what they have going on there! They use a lot of the ideas I’m excited to learn about, such as companion planting. You can buy plants that they have started for you to put in your garden for $3/each. Bargain! The ones I have transplanted have taken off! They have invited me to come back with “S” (our daughter) to harvest what they have grown. Super nice people!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

